October 2017 Chancellor election

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
October 2017 Chancellor election
← May 2017 3 October 2017 (2017-10-03) - 10 October 2017 (2017-10-10) January 2018 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of approval votes needed to win
Turnout17 voters (Increase2)
  Austerain Flag.png Austerain Flag.png
Candidate Approve Austerain Reject Austerain
Popular votes 16 1
Percentage 94.44% 5.56%

Chancellor before election

Mons Garle

Elected Chancellor


Nominations for the position of Chancellor opened on 23 September 2017 and closed on 3 October 2017, with voting beginning shortly after. The Speaker, Anaaxes, served as the Election Administrator. The vote was automatically tabulated and publicly auditable on the voting portal, so there was no specific vote verifier in this election. There were 17 valid votes of 17 total votes cast, with no abstentions. The incumbent Chancellor, Mons Garle, did not run for re-election. As only one candidate emerged, an approval election was held to either approve or reject the sole nominee. Austerain won the election after gaining more approval votes than rejection votes.[1] They took office on 10 October 2017 as the second Chancellor of the Social Liberal Union.

Austerain nominated Mons Garle and Kanoria on 24 September, with the former never responding to the nomination and the latter declining the nomination on the 28th. Anaaxes nominated Austerain on the 28th and they accepted on the 29th after being seconded by Harndon, and also seconded Mons Garle on the 30th.[2]