Northern Inertia

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The Democratic Republic of
Northern Inertia
Northern Inertia Flag.svg
9th World Assembly Delegate
In office
14 August 2015 – 2 January 2016
Preceded byAnaaxes
Succeeded byMons Garle
7th Speaker of the Union
In office
25 March 2015 – 14 August 2015
Preceded byNorth American Republics
Succeeded byChameliya
7th Minister of Foreign Affairs
In office
19 October 2014 – 25 March 2015
DelegateAvaerilon, Anaaxes
Preceded byAnaaxes
Succeeded byGoncar
Nation details
Founded29 March 2013 CE
(9 years ago)

Northern Inertia (/'nɔ:ðən ɪˈnəːʃə/), officially the Democratic Republic of Northern Inertia, is a country in the Social Liberal Union.

In 2015, the Northern Inertian population was estimated at 17.4 million, with the majority living along the east coast. Northern Inertia is a parliamentary republic with a central government based in the capital Enniskean, with local governments in seven provinces. Over two million people live in Enniskean, making it the largest city. In addition to hosting national government, it is also a significant commercial and industrial hub. Other large cities include Ruthin, Beauval, Solothurn and Monforte. Northern Inertia is in economic and monetary union, as well as partial fiscal union, with Southern Inertia. The two countries also exercise a largely coordinated foreign policy, this affinity arising from cultural similarities and a largely common history.

The area today occupied by Northern and Southern Inertia, originally settled by native Inertians at a disputed time, was part of the French Empire from the 16th century until the 1815 Congress of Vienna, where Britain was awarded the region. This legacy is reflected in a presently vaning influence of the French language. Under British rule, separatist sentiment was widespread, and French pressure caused Britain to award the Inertian Commonwealth a constitution, agreed upon in an appendix to the 1856 Treaty of Paris. The first British dependency to be granted such a constitution, Inertia officially became a Dominion of the British Empire in 1869. During the Great War, anti-British sentiment increased violently, particularly due to a combination of bad harvests and wartime disruption to trade. Inspired by the 1917 Russian revolution, Marxist revolutionaries in February of 1918 declared the Inertian Socialist Republic and quickly seized control of the north of Inertia, leading to the Inertian Civil War. The war terminated later that year in a victory for the southern loyalists or "whites" who were supported by the British. After months of further insurgency in the north, and pressured by US President Woodrow Wilson, the British in February 1919 consented to the Treaty of Sortavala, which granted the north an independent republic led by moderate forces, and allowed the south to remain in the Empire and later in the Commonwealth. The constitution of the Democratic Republic was signed in May, establishing the current parliamentary republic.

Northern Inertia quickly developed an advanced industrial economy, and today is among the most developed countries in the world. It has an extensive welfare state and a successful export-driven mixed economy. Universal suffrage has been in force since the inception of the country, the constitution having undergone remarkably few alterations.[1]


The head of state is currently President Frederic Oestrond, who was elected in 2010 for his first four-year term, and was reelected in 2014. In practice, the President only has ceremonial power, with the exception of foreign relations. The President is elected through a direct, two-round vote.

Northern Inertia's 200-seat unicameral parliament is elected every four years. Currently, the largest party is the Social Liberal party with 45 seats. Other parliament parties include the Conservative party (36 seats), the Moderate party (27), the Democratic Worker's party (26), the Green party (15), the Democrats (15), the Nationalist party (14), the Communist party (12) and the Christian Democrats (10). The next parliamentary elections will take place in September 2015.

Northern Inertia has a majority government formed by the Social Liberals, the Democratic Workers, the Moderates and the Greens.[2]


The State Council of Northern Inertia:

  • Prime Minister: Norman Wanger (SLP)
  • Minister of the Treasury: Jules Untrend (DWP)
  • Minister of Internal Affairs: Pernille Roughen (DWP)
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Eric Trioglio (SLP)
  • Minister of Defense: Ronald Hosefields (Mod)
  • Minister of Justice: Anne Holzenberg (DWP)
  • Minister of Governance: Helena Weiner (Green)
  • Minister of Education: Gerard Gusonne (SLP)
  • Minister of Culture: Pehr Ahrlens (Mod)
  • Minister of Sports and Recreation: Stephen Colonert (Mod)
  • Minister of Agriculture: Timothy Still (Green)
  • Minister of Traffic and Infrastructure: Maria Kondrio (SLP)
  • Minister of Entrepreneurship and Employment: James McVire (Mod)
  • Minister of Public Health and Welfare: Mary Richardson (DWP)
  • Minister of the Environment: Wilhelm Nicht (Green)
  • Minister of Housing: Kristina Caulker (SLP)


  • Greenfields[3]
    • Population: 5 017 314
    • Capital: Enniskean
  • Iisaku Peninsula
    • Population: 684 905
    • Capital: Iisaku City
  • Mindania
    • Population: 1 530 856
    • Capital: Solothurn
  • Plaidlest
    • Population: 1 318 937
    • Capital: Monforte
  • Halti
    • Population: 506 384
    • Capital: Sortavala
  • Beauval
    • Population: 3 848 712
    • Capital: Beauval
  • New Wales
    • Population: 4 443 103
    • Capital: Ruthin


Northern Inertia's economy is heavily reliant on international trade. The country is widely recognized as one of the main producers of goods such as electric automobiles, sugar and educational material, especially books.[4]


  • Sugarcanes, processed sugar and other further developed products of sugar.
  • Automobiles and related equipment, especially electric cars and related technology.
  • Services, such wildlife conservation and education.
  • Printed material.
  • Technology and raw materials related to nuclear energy.
  • Minerals, mainly bauxite and iron.
  • Fish.


  • Oil and other natural resources, such as natural gas.
  • Commodity products.
  • Foodstuff not produced in the country.