May 2020 Speaker of the Union election

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
May 2020 Speaker of the Union election
← January 2020 15 May 2020 (2020-05-15) – 22 May 2020 (2020-05-22) October 2020 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of votes needed to win
Turnout17 voters (Increase6)
  Jyskmark Flag.png Wildy Flag.png
Candidate Jyskmark Wildy
Popular votes 12 5
Percentage 70.59% 29.41%

Speaker before election


Elected Speaker


Nominations for Speaker of the Union opened on 8 May 2020 and closed on 15 May 2020. Speaker Ramelia served as Election Administrator as they were not eligible to be re-elected due to consecutive term limits. Courelli nominated themselves on the 8 May but withdrew their nomination on the 10th. Jyskmark nominated themselves on the 8th and Wildy did the same the following day. Voting lasted from 15 May to 22 May 2020. Jyskmark won the election after gaining more first preference votes than Wildy in the first and only round of voting, which was verified by Independent Vote Verifier Member State Puertollano-Argamasilla. Jyskmark assumed office as the 16th Speaker of the Union on 27 May 2020.[1]