May 2017 Chancellor election

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
May 2017 Chancellor election
13 May 2017 (2017-05-13) - 20 May 2017 (2017-05-20) October 2017 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of votes needed to win
Turnout15 voters
  Avaerilon Flag.png Mons Garle Flag.png Normandy and Picardy Flag.png
Candidate Avaerilon Mons Garle Normandy and Picardy
Popular votes 3 4 4
Percentage 27.27% 36.36% 36.36%

Transparent Pixel.png
No majority in first round; Ballots for last place candidate redistributed
7 votes for Mons Garle
4 votes for Normandy and Picardy

Chancellor before election

Office established

Elected Chancellor

Mons Garle

Nominations for the position of Chancellor opened on 4 May 2017, and closed on 13 May 2017. The Speaker, Odd Republic, served as the Election Administrator. The final vote was verified by Member States Austerain and Anaaxes. There were 13 valid votes of 15 total votes cast, with 2 abstentions. This was the inaugural election held for this office, in preparation of the implementation of the Third Constitution of the Social Liberal Union. Mons Garle won the election after gaining more votes than Normandy and Picardy in the second round of the instant-run off vote after ballots cast for Avaerilon were redistributed.[1] They took office on 20 May 2017 as the first Chancellor of the Social Liberal Union.

Odd Republic nominated Kanoria on 5 May, but they declined the nomination on the 7th. Austerain nominated Mons Garle and North American Republics on 5 May, and North American Republic declined the nomination the 6th and Mons Garle accepted the nomination on the 6th. Normandy and Picardy nominated themselves on 7 May. Mintonity nominated Avaerilon on 7 May, and they accepted the nomination the same day.[2]