From The Library of Parliament
Jump to: navigation, search
Jyskmark Flag Updated.png
22nd Minister of Immigration
Assumed office
6 August 2019
Preceded byKoiho
Member of the Law Commission
In office
21 May 2019 – 6 August 2019
Nominated byDelegate Goncar
Preceded byPaschimbanga
Succeeded byFantasma Izquierdo
Attorney General
In office
28 July 2019 – 6 August 2018
Appointed byRamelia
DelegateGoncar, Courelli
Preceded byKanoria
Succeeded byAnaaxes
Nation details
Founded18 February 2019
(10 months ago)


Jysk politics revolve around the country's unicameral legislature, the Folketing, to which 1,000 members are elected for a 4-year term. The Folketing uses proportional representation, though parties must have at least 3% of votes in order to be allocated seats.

The 37th Folketing

The 37th Folketing was elected by the General Election of 20th October 2018, meaning the next election is scheduled for 22nd October 2022.

Number of Jyskere on the electoral register Number of votes cast Turnout
194,544,098 164,114,603 84.4%
Party Votes Percentage
Jysk Socialist Party 39,201,948 votes 23.9%
Conservative Party 31,820,685 votes 19.4%
Green Party 26,097,013 votes 15.9%
Democratic Party 21,053,018 votes 12.8%
Fremskridt (Progress) 19,526,491 votes 11.9%
Jyskere First 9,127,090 votes 5.6%
Communist Party 6,390,228 votes 3.9%
International Party 5,003,729 votes 3.1%
Pirate Party 3,480,651 votes 2.1%
Church Congress 2,413,750 votes 1.5%

Government Coalition - 537 seats. Jysk Socialist Party - 248 seats. Green Party - 165 seats. Fremskridt - 124 seats.

Formal Opposition Coalition - 335 seats. Conservative Party - 202 seats. Democratic Party - 133 seats.

Other Parties - 128 seats. Jyskere First - 57 seats. Communist Party of Jyskmark - 40 seats. International Party - 31 seats.


The Jysk government is usually coalition-based, with the largest party in the Folketing being asked to form a government after each election by the President of Jyskmark. The President of Jyskmark, who serves as head of state of the Democratic Republic of Jyskmark, is a largely ceremonial office elected by a special convocation of the Folketing for a four-year term with the last Presidential Convocation having met on 22nd October 2016. Day-to-day running of government and executive power is left to the Chancellor of Jyskmark, an office filled by the leader of the governing coalition.

Current Cabinet of the Government

Office Officeholder Party
President Hanne Kjær Socialist
Chancellor Kasper Henriksen Socialist
Office Officeholder Party
Foreign Minister Gustav Toft Green
Interior Minister Benedikte Strøm Fremskridt
Finance Minister Ulrike Eriksen Socialist
Defense Minister Torsten Hviid Socialist
Justice Minister Lene Aagesen Green
Labour Minister Frederik Dahl Socialist
Education Minister Stine Ejstrup Fremskridt
Health Minister Mikkel Hansen Socialist
Transport Minister Søren Holt Green
Culture Minister Christina Skov Fremskridt
Science and Energy Minister Agnethe Lindegaard Green

Political Parties

Parties in Jyskmark represent a variety of views and positions, with many standing candidates at each election. A rough summary of each major party is given below:

Jysk Socialist Party

Advocates a market socialist economic model with highly progressive social policy. The Socialist Party has often been in power and has led the government of Jyskmark since 2002 with Freja Møller serving as Chancellor for three terms before standing down in favour of the incumbent Kasper Henriksen, currently serving his second term.

Green Party

Despite only coming to prominence in the 1990s, the Green Party has risen to become a powerful force in Jysk politics and they have been the main supporting partner of the Socialists since the 2014 General Election. They support wide-ranging reform to improve Jyskmark's environmental standing, as well as backing progressive social policy in general and being generally supportive of the Socialists' economic policies.

Fremskridt (Progress)

Fremskridt are a centre-left social democratic party, supporting left-wing social policies but preferring a shift towards a more capitalistic economy. They have remained in a series of governing coalitions since 1992, supporting first Magnus Olsen's Democratic governments and then the Socialist governments since.

Conservative Party

The Conservative Party regularly attract a significant number of voters, but have rarely been part of the governing coalition. The Democratic Party governments of the 1990s came at a low point in support for the Conservatives, leading to Fremskridt being the main junior partner in those coalitions. The Conservatives seek to return Jyskmark to a capitalist economy with heavy privatisation of public services and deregulation of the markets. They have also suggested that they would roll back social policy in a number of areas, particularly policies supporting LGBTQ+ rights and open immigration.

Democratic Party

A centre-right party which also advocated a return to a capitalist system, despite remaining more socially progressive than the Conservative Party. Support for the Democrats has been slow to recover from the so-called 'Åhavn Dossier' scandal which forced the second Olsen government to be ended six months early in 2002, and former Democratic voters have been drawn into the Conservatives and Fremskridt.

Jyskere First

Formed in 2007, Jyskere First has seen some success in the three general elections they have contested and currently have 57 seats in the Folketing. They seek to introduce greatly tightened policies on immigration and engage in what they call "tradition-based politics," proposing policies against minorities' rights and freedoms while also advocating for an almost unregulated capitalist system.

Communist Party of Jyskmark

The Communist Party obviously seeks to institute a fully Marxist-Leninist political system, but has been willing to collaborate with the Socialist Party in the past and supported a number of Socialist government coalitions.

Pirate Party

A relatively new party having been formed in 2015, the Pirates campaign in favour of civil libertarian policies and a system of direct democracy. Although they only received 2.1% of the vote in 2018, they are expected to grow steadily going forward.

Church Congress

The Church Congress is a radical theocratic party that wishes to overhaul government along staunchly conservative lines according to the doctrines of the Jysk Reformed Church. Perhaps unsurprisingly, given the largely atheist population of Jyskmark, the Church Congress has never won any Folketing seats and all other parties have vigorously ruled out working with them.