June 2018 Speaker of the Union election

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
June 2018 Speaker of the Union election
← February 2018 10 June 2018 (2018-06-10) - 17 June 2018 (2018-06-17) November 2018 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of votes needed to win
Turnout14 voters (Decrease9)
  Hirematia Flag.svg Koiho Flag.png Helvurium Flag.png
Candidate Hirematia Koiho Helvurium
Popular votes 8 3 2
Percentage 57.14% 21.43% 14.29%
  Brys Questions Flag.png
Candidate Brys Questions
Popular votes 1
Percentage 7.14%

Speaker before election

Anaaxes (Elected)
Kanoria (Acting)

Elected Speaker


Nominations and campaigning for the position of Speaker of the Union opened on 28 May 2018, and closed on 7 June 2018. The Delegate, Courelli, was appointed by the Speaker, Anaaxes, to serve as the Election Administrator. The vote was automatically tabulated and publicly auditable on the voting portal, so there was no specific vote verifier in this election. There were 14 total votes cast, with no abstentions.[1] The incumbent Speaker, Anaaxes, was term limited and thus could not run in this election. Hirematia won the election after gaining more first preference vote than Koiho, Helvurium, and Brys Questions combined. They took office on 17 June 2018 for a five month term ending on 1 November 2018.

On 28 May, Helvurium and Brys Questions nominated themselves; Brys Questions nominated Anaaxes and Koiho; Goncar nominated Hirematia, Eggy216, and Omerica; Ramelia nominated Kanoria, Courelli and Paschimbanga and seconded Koiho's nomination; and Paschimbanga nominated Ramelia (Brys Questions' nomination of Anaaxes was invalid, since Anaaxes was term limited, and Paschimbanga's nomination of Ramelia was invalid because Ramelia had not met the constitutional requirement of being a member state for two months). On that same day, Ramelia, Paschimbanga, and Omerica declined their respective nominations, and Hirematia and Koiho accepted their respective nominations. Kanoria declined their nomination on 31 May. On 1 June, Hirematia pledged to conduct their campaign in accordance with the Code of Fair Campaign Practices, and Brys Questions and Koiho did the same on 6 June. Courelli, serving as Election Administrator, closed nominations on 7 June.[2]