June 2017 World Assembly Delegate election

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
June 2017 World Assembly Delegate election
← March 2017 30 May 2017 (2017-05-30) - 6 June 2017 (2017-06-06) October 2017 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of votes needed to win
Turnout10 voters (Decrease18)
  Austerain Flag.png Normandy and Picardy Flag.png Odd Republic Flag.png
Candidate Austerain Normandy and Picardy Odd Republic
Popular votes 4 2 2
Percentage 44.44% 22.22% 22.22%
  Mintonity Flag.jpg
Candidate Mintonity
Popular votes 1
Percentage 11.11%

Delegate before election


Elected Delegate


Nominations and campaigning for the position of World Assembly Delegate opened on 30 May 2017, and closed one week later. The Speaker pro tempore, Kanoria, served as the Election Administrator. The final vote was verified by Member State Eggy216. There were 10 valid votes of 10 total votes cast, with one full abstention, two abstentions for third preference, and five abstentions for fourth preference.[1] The incumbent Delegate, Austerain, won re-election to a second term after gaining more first preference votes than the two tied runner-ups, Normandy and Picardy and Odd Republic. Austerain was the first Delegate to be elected under the new Third Constitution of the Social Liberal Union.

Odd Republic nominated Hirematia, Mintonity, and Normandy and Picardy on 21 May. Hirematia declined the nomination on the 21st, Normandy and Picardy accepted the nominated on the 21st, and Mintonity accepted the nomination on the 22nd. Freeland Newworldia nominated Austerain on the 21st, which was seconded by Anaaxes and Phrenics, and they accepted the nomination on the 21st. Odd Republic nominated themselves on the 25th.[2]