July 2019 World Assembly Delegate election

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
July 2019 World Assembly Delegate election
← March 2019 15 July 2019 (2019-07-15) – 21 July 2019 (2019-07-21) November 2019 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of votes needed to win
Turnout21 voters (Increase4)
  Courelli Flag.png Hirematia Flag.svg Jyskmark Flag.png
Candidate Courelli Hirematia Jyskmark
Popular votes 10 6 3
Percentage 47.62% 28.57% 14.29%
  Castillecrest Flag.png
Candidate Castillecrest
Popular votes 2
Percentage 9.52%

Transparent Pixel.png
No majority in first round; Ballots for last place candidate redistributed
10 votes for Courelli
6 votes for Hirematia
4 votes for Jysmark

No majority in second round; Ballots for last place redistributed
14 votes for Courelli
6 votes for Hirematia

Delegate before election


Elected Delegate


Nominations for World Assembly Delegate opened on 7 July 2019, and closed on 14 July 2019. Kanoria served as Election Administrator. Brys Questions nominated Jyskmark and Hirematia, Helvurium nominated Castillecrest, Hirematia accepted their nomination, and Ramelia nominated themself on 7 July. Castillecrest accepted their nomination; Courelli was nominated by Koiho and accepted their nomination; Jyskmark accepted their nomination; and Ramelia withdrew their candidacy on 8 July. Voting lasted from 15 July to 21 July. Incumbent 14th Delegate Goncar was ineligible to seek another term, as they had served two consecutive terms. Courelli and Jyskmark wrote campaign threads. Courelli received ten votes, Hirematia received six, Jyskmark three, and Castillecrest two. There being no majority in the first round, Castillecrest was eliminated and one vote was redistributed to Jyskmark. There still being no majority, Jyskmark was eliminated and four votes were redistributed to Courelli, giving them a 14-6 majority against Hirematia and electing them the 15th World Assembly Delegate (and second Delegate to serve a nonconsecutive term).[1]

A debate was held between the candidates in this election, moderated by Goncar. The transcript is below.