January 2018 Chancellor election

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to navigation Jump to search
January 2018 Chancellor election
← October 2017 9 January 2018 (2018-01-09) - 16 January 2018 (2018-01-16) May 2018 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of votes needed to win
Turnout13 voters (Decrease4)
  New Lettia Flag.png Auze Flag.png
Candidate New Lettia Auze
Popular votes 9 3
Percentage 75.00% 25.00%

Chancellor before election


Elected Chancellor

New Lettia

Nominations for the position of Chancellor opened on 2 January 2018 and closed on 9 January 2018, with voting beginning shortly thereafter. The Speaker, Anaaxes, served as the Election Administrator. There were 13 valid votes of 14 total votes cast, with 1 full abstention. The election was held due to a vacancy created by resignation of Chancellor Austerain effective 1 January 2018. New Lettia won the election after gaining more votes than Auze.[1] They took office on 17 January 2018 as the third Chancellor of the Social Liberal Union.

Kanoria nominated New Lettia on 2 January, and they accepted the nomination that day. Courelli nominated Auze and Modern Progressive States on the 2nd. Auze accepted and Modern Progressive States declined their nomination that day.[2]