Speaker of the Union election, August 2017

From The Library of Parliament
Jump to: navigation, search
Speaker of the Union election, August 2017
← February 2017 26 August 2017 (2017-08-26) - 1 September 2017 (2017-09-01) February 2018 →

Member States eligible to vote
Majority of votes needed to win
Turnout16 voters (Decrease1)
  Anaaxes Flag.png Lawattsia Flag.png
Candidate Anaaxes Lawattsia
First preference votes 13 1
Percentage 92.86% 7.143%

Speaker before election

Kanoria (Acting)
Odd Republic (Last elected)

Elected Speaker


Nominations and campaigning for the position of Speaker of the Union opened on 8 August 2017, and closed on 26 August 2017.[1] The Speaker pro tempore, Kanoria, served as the Election Administrator due to a vacancy in the speakership, following the resignation of Speaker Odd Republic on 7 August 2017.[2] The vote was automatically tabulated and publicly auditable on the voting portal, but was verified by Austerain. There was 1 invalid vote cast out of 17 total votes cast, with 2 abstentions.[3] Anaaxes won the election after gaining more first preference votes than Lawattsia. They took office on 1 September 2017 for a five month term ending on 1 February 2017. This was the first Speaker election under the Third Constitution of the Social Liberal Union, and the new term length of five months down from six came into effect for the first time, as Odd Republic's term length was protected by a grandfather clause in the Constitution.